Fixing my Makita Jigsaw

I bought a Makita Jigsaw at a garage sale a few years ago, and when I tried to use it, the blade wouldn’t cut a straight line becuase the slider (thing that holds the blade) was so loose.  I put it in with my emergency tools (the ones you never use but don’t want to throw away).    Finally, I figured I should fix it or trash it, and opened her up.  This is what I saw, with the slide and gear removed for clarity.

Inside of Makita Jigsaw

Inside of Makita Jigsaw, Pic 1

The main items that were causing problems were the three metal pieces that you see at the bottom, two matched opposite each other, and the last a little to the left of the others.  YOU DON’T HAVE TO TAKE THE GEAR PIECE AND SLIDER OUT.  I did because I wanted to be clear

Closeup of the Jigsaw slides, with one on it's side

Closeup of the Jigsaw slides, with one on it, Pic. 2

These three pieces hold the blade in place while it moves up and down.  They can wear out, and you can replace them.  Mine didn’t have too much wear, but the plastic slots that hold them were in rough shape.  They had obvious deformation that made it so they couldn’t hold the blade firmly.  I figured that buying a case would be too expensive, so I modified it.  I made sure the slides were clamped closely in place by shims.

I used the cedar shims you use for hanging doors and windows, because that was what I had around.

Picture 3 (at right)shows the other half of the jigsaw.

Inside of Jigsaw, after using shims

You can see the three slots that the “slider holders” should rest in.  I cut a thin shim and put in the bottom of each of these three holes.  The grease present in the bottom served to make sure that the shims would not fall out when I reassembled the saw.  These shims don’t have to be very thick at all.  Last of all, I shimmed behind the upper right “slider holder”.  This helped to remove the play in the other direction in the joint.

I then screwed the whole thing back together.  The play in the blade was gone.  If your metal slides are worn out, you can by replacements, and if you love the saw enough, you can buy a new body.  Given I already have another jigsaw, and wasn’t that far into this one financially, i just patched her up so I could use her.

Good luck, and thanks for any comments

12 Responses to “Fixing my Makita Jigsaw”


  1. 1 I. Gardner November 27, 2009 at 6:41 am

    Great article – did you re-grease the working parts? And if so, what kind of grease did you use – does it have to be anything special?

  2. 2 Jig Saw October 25, 2012 at 8:35 am

    general purpose grease is ok, or to be more luxury the high temperature grease is better

  3. 3 ajs May 5, 2013 at 8:24 am

    how did you separate the gear from the motor rod ? My gear is broken and I need to replace it.

  4. 4 wooden patio furniture kits August 6, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    I am in fact happy to read this web site posts which consists of
    lots of helpful information, thanks for providing these
    information.

  5. 5 teak wood outdoor furniture sale September 5, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    Your mod of describing all in this piece of writing is truly nice, every one be capable off effortlessly know it,
    Thanks a lot.

  6. 6 southwest rustic furniture September 11, 2013 at 5:54 am

    Hi! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 3gs!
    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look
    forward to all your posts! Carry on the fantastic work!

  7. 7 Sheri July 8, 2014 at 5:13 am

    – Every action one makes can rsult differently, depending on the case.
    Overall, show the reaal estate buyer the wartmth and joy of owning your home.
    A number of the hoomes in Delray Dunes incxlude scenic water orr golf cours views.

  8. 8 Kerry August 5, 2014 at 1:24 am

    Since tthe scond decanate of Cancer is rising Lady lck does not smile on them in financial matters.

    Since the third decanate of Aries is rising
    they have entreprenaurial ability. Rolling hills throuigh their beautiful eyws will be as soft, gentle, and voluptuous as a beautiful woman.

  9. 9 Hinsdale Realtor August 14, 2014 at 10:05 am

    The Split Could be a 55% 45% split to the selling broker.
    Be prepared tto work weekends and evenings, because that is when youur clients are available.
    This will further help you develop effective marketing
    campaigns for your business.

  10. 10 Sell your house quick manchester November 11, 2014 at 5:42 am

    It’s truly very complicated in this active life to listen news on Television, thus I just use the
    web for that reason, and get the most recent news.


  1. 1 ipone Trackback on March 1, 2015 at 3:38 am
  2. 2 john lewis and civil rights Trackback on July 20, 2017 at 1:53 pm

Leave a Reply

